+27 71 448 3496

EA’s in SA’s RED zones will now only take 147 days

Share Article
The South African Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries Barbara Creecy image credit: gov.za

by Garyn RapsonKirsty KilnerTsoseletso Bogopa at law firm Webber Wentzel

The South African Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries Barbara Creecy has proposed further regulatory changes to expedite the development of strategically important energy infrastructure. 

These developments are a culmination of Government’s coordinated efforts to attract much needed investment, and to implement the country’s 2019 Integrated Resource Plan (IRP), which requires an additional 14.4 Gigawatts of wind and 6.0 Gigawatts of solar PV capacity by 2030. Comments on these proposed changes must be submitted by 16 August 2020.

There are currently five renewable energy zones which have been earmarked for the development of large-scale wind and solar projects (commonly known as RED Zones). The RED Zones are supported by five existing power corridors for the development of large-scale electricity transmission and distribution infrastructure.

These areas were chosen based on the findings of strategic environmental assessments: development is prioritised in specific geographic locations which have an abundance of resources (such as wind and sun), low environmental sensitivity, and where there is an increased need for socio-economic development, among other things.

For example, the placement of RED Zones in mining areas aims to provide opportunities for rehabilitation, the re-use of existing infrastructure, and continued employment for local communities when the mines are eventually decommissioned. Development within the RED Zones and power corridors is incentivised because applicants for environmental authorisation can follow a truncated environmental assessment process with reduced timeframes for decision making.  This makes it possible to obtain an environmental authorisation in just 147 days (as opposed to 300 days).

The Minister intends to expand the existing network of RED Zones and power corridors: three additional RED Zones and two new power corridors have been proposed. The RED Zones will be in the Emalahleni, Klerksdorp and Beaufort West areas. The Eastern power corridor will be extended towards the border of Mozambique and the Western power corridor will be extended along the west coast and connect to the Northern power corridor. The Minister proposes to further incentivise development in these areas by reducing the time taken to substantively amend environmental authorisations by 50 days.

​The Minister has also published her intention to identify the following geographical areas which are of strategic importance for planning gas transmission pipeline infrastructure.


Phase 1 Saldanha to Ankerlig and Saldanha to Mossel Bay
Phase 2 Mossel Bay to Coega
Phase 3 Richards Bay to Secunda and Gauteng
Phase 4 Mozambique (Southern Border) to Richards Bay
Phase 5 Abraham Villiers Bay (Northern Cape) to Saldanha and Ankerlig
Phase 6 Abraham Villiers Bay (Northern Cape) to Oranjemund
Phase 7 Coega to Richards Bay
Phase 8 Rompco Pipeline Corridor
Phase 9 Shale Gas Corridor and Inland corridor from Saldanha to Coega

The purpose of these proposed pipeline corridors is to accelerate the planning for gas to power as part of the IRP, and to create an enabling environment which will allow for the streamlining of development processes in these areas. We anticipate that similar benefits in terms of permitting processing and decision-making timeframes will, in due course, be published to incentivise development within the proposed corridors.


The article was published by Webber Wentzel


Share Article


AgricultureEnvironmental Management & Climate ChangeEnergyESGInfrastructureMiningPolitical EconomyTourism and ConservationWater Management